A Guide to Chakra Yoga Poses for Beginners

A Guide to Chakra Yoga Poses for Beginners

You have likely heard a lot about the significance of balancing your chakras by chanting mantras, doing breathing exercises, or meditation. Though all these things can definitely help with healing chakra system, very few people know how chakra yoga poses fit into your yoga practice.

The 7 main chakras – starting from the root chakra to crown chakra – rest on a delicate energy line that serves as a kind of highway for life force energy. And some yoga poses can help you activate each of these chakras. These poses cleanse the chakras for healthy subtle energy flow.

In this guide, you will learn 7 chakra yoga poses to help balance your body. Let’s get started.

Chakra Yoga Poses for Beginners

1. Root Chakra – Mountain Pose

The Root Chakra or Muladhara is present at the base of the spine. It channels grounding energy from the earth and make you feel safe and more connected. When this chakra is out of alignment, we experience imbalances in our physical body. Also, our sense of security will become diminished. On the other hand, when balanced, we feel confident and have a superior sense of belonging.

Mountain pose is the ultimate posture to connect to the earth energy via all four corners of our feet. And then arouse that energy upward to feel nourished in our whole body.

2. Sacral Chakra – Revolved Triangle Pose

Sacral Chakra or Svadisthana sits in the pelvic area. An imbalanced sacral chakra can make us feel emotionally suppressed and incapable to discover our passion in life. When it is balanced, you will find it easy to connect with others and enjoy everything.

Revolved Triangle Pose affects the abdominal organs to boost energy to spread within the Sacral Chakra. It is one of the best yoga poses for chakras that helps you remain grounded in the present moment.

Read More – Relaxation Yoga For Beginners to Manage Stress

3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Boat Pose

Located in the navel center, the Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura connects us to solar energy to give us a sense of determination, internal heat, and willpower. When it is unbalanced, you will experience stress and low self-esteem. However, a balanced Solar Plexus Chakra results in more confidence.

Boat pose is one of the perfect chakra yoga poses for beginners if they want to develop their Solar Plexus. This pose activates your core as well as internal fire to help align energy blocks or imbalances.

4. Heart Chakra – Low Lunge

The Heart Chakra or Anahata is our gateway to allowing love into our lives. When balanced, it enables you to feel generosity, respect, sympathy, and a connection with others. On the other hand, an imbalanced Heart Chakra will make you lose the sense of connection with others as well as love for yourself.

Low Lunge

To keep this chakra balanced, you can do Low Lunge pose. It invites your heart space to open and align your Heart Chakra energy.

5. Throat Chakra – Easy Pose With Chanting

The Throat Chakra or Vishuddha provides us energy to speak and communicate genuinely with ourselves and others. When misaligned, it can cause nose, ear, and throat problems together with a block of creativity and our melodious voice. If it is properly balanced, we can express the life-affirming and creative aspects of ourselves with confidence.

Chanting is the best practice to open the Throat Chakra. It also keeps the energy aligned.

Read More – The Complete Registered Yoga School Guide To Yoga Lingo

6. Third Eye Chakra – Dolphin Pose

The Third Eye Chakra or Agya Chakra is also known as Ajna Chakra. It sits at the brow point and called our “all-seeing eye”. This chakra helps you access self-reflection and clear thought along with inner guidance on our life path. When imbalanced, we can experience physical symptoms like migraine, dizziness, and headache. Alternatively, an aligned Ajna Chakra will help you see things clearly and without them being colored by our ego, past, or opinions.

The pose of this chakra is Dolphin Pose. One of the easy chakra yoga poses, it improves circulation to our brain and face. This, in turn, stimulates the Agya Chakra.

7. Crown Chakra – Balancing Butterfly

Last but not the least, the Crown Chakra or Sahasrara is our highest chakra. Unlike other chakras, it is not a wheel or crossing point of the energies. Instead, it is an opening. This chakra is our center of inspiration, devotion, and trust. Also, it is the seat of our consciousness that connects us to the limitless and infinite. If it is overactive, you may experience a sense of negativity about life and spiritual distrust. A balanced Crown Chakra brings tranquillity, joy, peace, and positivity to your life.

Balanced Butterfly Pose, one of the easy chakra yoga poses, invites peace, balance, and concentration to align your Crown Chakra.

If you find any of these poses difficult for you, we recommend you to join the yoga for beginners program. Doing so will help you awaken your chakras under the guidance of the yoga gurus.


How do you open chakras for beginners?

Chakras are the energy points present in your subtle body. To open your chakras, you need to practice meditation. There are many types of meditation practices. The most important thing that you need to keep in mind is that you have to be a consistent practitioner.

With regular meditation practice, you witness a growth in your concentration. The more you focus on your inner being, the stronger will be the connection. Thus, over time, the energy from the lowest chakra will raise upward.

Another thing you can do to activate chakras is to bring your focus to your chakra points. This allows the free flow of energy through your chakras. Hence, the chakras will be activated when you have laser focus for a longer time.

Which chakra should I open first?

There are seven chakras or energy centers in the human body. Further, there is a hierarchy when it comes to chakra placement. Therefore, when you talk about chakras, the first chakras are placed at the lowest point of your spine.

The root chakra is the first chakra whereas the crown chakra is the last chakra. Now, when it comes to opening chakras, the root chakra is the first that you should open. The sole reason is the flow of energy.

Sexual energy is the strongest energy in the world. Therefore, when you master your sexual desires, you can do anything in life. Hence, activating the root chakra makes way for the flow of energy to the second and other chakras.

What are chakras for beginners?

The energy centers in the human body are termed chakras. There are seven chakra points. The root chakra, sacral chakra, solar plexus chakra, heart chakra, throat chakra, third eye chakra, and the crown chakra.

The energy flows from the root chakra to the crown chakra. You can activate and take control of the energy flow by activating your chakras. For that, you need to practice different yogic practices.